The Lozells and Handsworth Heritage Trail showcases 10 architectural heritage sites in the inner-city areas of Lozells and Handsworth. The project was funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund.

We worked in partnership with South & City College Birmingham to provide training for local people to become volunteer Tour Guides for the Trail. Guided tours around the trail were delivered as part of the project and This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The tour takes in some of the finest local Georgian and Victorian architecture, a convent design by Augustus Pugin, a church tower built over 1000 years ago, and one of the best examples of a Victorian park in the UK. Tours begin at Soho House, former home of the industrialist Matthew Bolton, and end on Soho Road, the vibrant heart of Indian culture in Birmingham. The sidebar to the left of this page lists all of the sites individually.

There is a virtual tour (viewed on our Videos page), where interviews with people associated with the sites were recorded by volunteer Media students at Birmingham City University.

The Trail attracted attention from local and national media and was featured on BBC Midlands Today and BBC Radio WM.

Tours take approximately two hours. To arrange a tour at a date and time to suit you please contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call (0121) 348 8159/8158

Heritage Walks 2016

All walks should be booked in advance. 


Wednesday Walks
(shorter tour of 1 hour 30 minutes)

Wednesday 11th May - 1:00pm

Wednesday 8th June - 1:00pm

Wednesday 6th July - 1:00pm

Wednesday 10th August - 1:00pm

Wednesday 7th September - 1:00pm

Saturday Walks
(full tour of 2 hours 30 minutes)

Saturday 7th May - 1:00pm 

Saturday 4th June - 1:00pm 

Saturday 2nd July - 1:00pm 

Saturday 6th August - 1:00pm 

Saturday 3rd September - 1:00pm 

Heritage weekend - Walking in the Footsteps of Boulton and Watt:
Saturday 10th September - 11:00am and 1:30pm

Sunday 11th September - 11:00am and 1:30pm
(Tours lasting 1 hour and 30 minutes each)

Please call and enquire for private group walks on (0121) 348 8159/8158